Thursday, December 24, 2015

Akagi Chapter 273

Merry Christmas (eve)! We're bringing you Akagi a day early to make way for a special release tomorrow! Yes, there is something that we simply had to release on Christmas Day, so unfortunately one of our three weekly series had to be shelved to make room for it. Since Kaiji is by far our most popular series and people are paying for Akagi still, the only logical move was to drop Kurosawa for a week. Hopefully what we have in store for you tomorrow will make up for it!

As for today's release, it was brought to you by the jolly cleaner Crump and the jingle jonging typesetter known as Tambur. The day after Christmas, Saturday December 26th, we will be having a special yuletide event for Mahjong Day where 20 points will be automatically added to your score no matter where you place! So even coming in last will only make for a tiny loss, while a first-place victory will earn you tons! Stop by the IRC to take part!

Chapter Link

"It seems you were blessed by your apathy towards death!"


So first of all, we discover that Washizu is actually in Tenpai, only he's waiting on the 1-sou, meaning Akagi didn't deal in after all. This also means that had Akagi taken the Pei single wait, he would have had no chance of winning since Washizu has the last Pei himself. If that had happened, it would seem inevitable that Washizu would win, since Akagi would be drawing dead while Washizu would still have 1 out left in the draw pile. So as much as Washizu says it didn't matter, comparatively it matters a great deal.

Especially if Akagi manages to draw again before Washizu, like he's doing with this Kan. It's a move that's only good if you think that Washizu is going to win the hand on his first draw, otherwise it does nothing but make your hand worse, with less winning tiles. So clearly Akagi thinks that Washizu's going to win, so he's got to take a do-or-die gamble to try and win before he does. This is probably why he said that Ohgi was misreading Washizu as well; Ohgi didn't consider that Washizu might be in tenpai and would win on his first draw if left to his own devices.

So now, Akagi has to draw the 2-sou, 3-sou, or 5-sou on the Rinshan draw or else Washizu's going to have another draw. He has 9 outs in the draw pile, so it's certainly better than Washizu's wait, but not as good as his 7-sided wait would have been. We'll see how it turns out.

14 comments:

  1. Isn't Yasuoka is the one, who will pay for rinshan tsumo in case it happens?
    And Merry Christmas to everyone, by the way

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Because it's a team game, that rule, "Pao", is not included. Was explained when discussing a called Dai San Gen in an earlier chapter.

      Delete
  2. Thanks for all the presents in the recent days, damn.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Now that the 1-sou is no longer a winning tile for him, there's still room for Akagi to kan twice more.

    I'll admit that I've not been paying much attention to the scores and the permutations, so this might be a silly question. But if Akagi were to kan three times, what would happen if Yasuoka benefitted from the dora/ura dora tiles that Akagi's opening up in order to get a direct hit counted yakuman on Washizu? Obviously Washizu is in tenpai and is only looking to avoid dealing in to Akagi, while Yasuoka has opaque tiles, so it's not an impossibility. Just not sure as to whether that would still leace Washizu in first and/or whether Akagi would have to make payments to him at the end of the round.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's 39000, forget it. Neither Yasuoka nor Akagi can put together Double Yakumans with these hands.

      Delete
    2. I dunno, Akagi's only two tiles away from a suu-anko tenpai and could conceivably get 8 ura-dora with 2 kans. Add the flush and that's a counted yakuman plus the suu-anko.

      Delete
    3. Kan dora, excuse me.

      Delete
    4. He just disqualified himself from suu ankou by making that open Kan. It has to be 4 CLOSED triplets. Besides, counted yakuman doesn't stack with other yakuman.

      Delete
    5. Actually, thinking about it again, I can see Akagi putting together a Ryuu-Ii-Sou-Suu-Kantsu if he's given enough time.

      Delete
    6. Which would mean he'd have to discard the 1-Sou, which would... you know, deal into Washizu's hand.

      Delete
    7. He can't get ura doras since he can't riichi and he couldn't can kan 1sou because of the kokushi kan rule

      Delete
  4. kokushi kan rule? do you mean that if he declares kan on 1sou, washizu could ron that?

    ReplyDelete
  5. On an off topic note, the tohaiden website drew all the allstars characters in FKMT Style and it's pretty funny

    http://tohaiden.jp/wp/wp-content/themes/tohaiden_pc/resource/images/top/header-character.png

    Silly Ten Ten style

    ReplyDelete