Thursday, February 12, 2015

Akagi Chapter 227

Another week, another Akagi! In this chapter, Washizu ponders his next move with the information given to him by Suzuki's 6-man!

Thanks to Crump Biggums for the cleans and to Tambur for the typesetting! I'll be streaming this SUNDAY (not friday!) at 21:00 GMT (2:00 PM PST). Mahjong night will be this saturday at 22:00 GMT (3:00 PM PST) on the IRC. If you'd like to support the group, we now have a donation button in the sidebar!

Chapter Link

"That fortress of darkness has collapsed!"


This chapter speaks pretty well for itself I feel, I don't think there's much I need to add. Just, if Washizu's going to play a Manzu tile, he should play the 4-man he has 2 of rather than the 3-man he only has one of; that would give him a turn of complete safety the next turn if Akagi doesn't change up his hand.

Fukumoto's metaphors are top-notch as usual. I'm always a fan of metaphors that keep getting expanded upon like how Washizu is adding to his fortress of darkness metaphor with current events. To say nothing of Suzuki's wonderful bonfire that saved Washizu and his happy companions from a lifetime at sea. We'll see what Washizu plays next; I somewhat doubt he'll just deal into Akagi's hand here.

4 comments:

  1. Obviously he won't deal into Akagi's hand. It never happens like that, I think. It makes me wonder how many more chapters a game that is only supposed to last one night is going to take to end. Still enjoying it though.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the chapter! I bet this cliffhanger would've been excruciating if we had to wait a whole month for the next chapter like the readers in Japan had to. Hopefully we'll be able to feel that agony for ourselves soon.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm starting to think Washizu is a bit tsundere for Suzuki at this point.

    Thanks for the chapter.

    ReplyDelete
  4. If you're bored check out the first Akagi chapters where he plays for Nangou, you will feel like you're in the twilight zone when you see how fast things happen.

    ReplyDelete