Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Akagi Chapter 180

Another chapter of Akagi, coming right at you! In this chapter, Washizu has all but won the round! Does Akagi have a backup plan...?! Thanks to TA for the cleans, and to Kazuhiko for the typesetting!

As some of you may know, Akagi's 14th Kinichi is this Thursday, so I'd like to have an all-night (actually, all-day) vigil on Friday the 27th starting at 19:00 GMT (12:00 PM PST). I'd be marathoning through 6 Hanchans of Washizu Mahjong on the Akagi DS game on http://www.twitch.tv/sonickrazy/, and I'd like to make it into a regular thing where I play through Mahjong and FKMT games on twitch on fridays. I have some more elusive games to try out later down the road, but if nobody cares that's fine.

And as usual, Mahjong Day will be this Saturday at 22:00 GMT (3:00 PM PST).

Chapter Link

"The very thought of making a comeback was naught more than a dream!!"


So, Washizu is convinced that he has it won. So long as Akagi doesn't know where the 4th Hatsu is, he will continue to keep his Dai San Gen tenpai intact, and while he's doing so, Washizu will complete his tenpai and have Suzuki deal into his hand! Any chance of a comeback was a fleeting dream! But the very instant Washizu decides to embark on that strategy, the very instant he plays the 9-sou, Akagi interrupts his inner monologue to Ron. He deliberately gave up his Dai San Gen tenpai to chase after the 9-sou that Washizu would have to play to get to Tenpai, himself. Washizu finds this inconceivable, considering the massive 92,000-point difference that was between them... Akagi had the chance to wipe it all away in a single blow, so long as he drew the final Hatsu, and yet he did not consider that for a moment! What could he be thinking? WHAT?!

Well, the people who understand how Washizu Mahjong works should know full well what he's thinking, but I'll save the talking about that for when it's revealed. Nevertheless, I found this to be a pretty obvious turn of events, especially since Akagi actually told us at the beginning of the round that his 7-sou and Washizu's 9-sou were the key factors of the hand. It's still pretty gutsy to ignore the very real possibility of a yakuman tsumo in favor of a direct hit on Washizu, though. 

8 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Perhaps I'll just say, Akagi has the real grasp of the situation, while Washizu is looking to far ahead of himself for his own good.

      Delete
  2. Washizu needs to realize that Akagi is exclusively aiming for direct hits and start playing better, and in doing so begin falling into far FAR more elaborate traps or this is gonna get real boring real fast. Akagi was able to call this game without making a single draw. Where is the Washizu who amassed this fortune that he has so generously given to Akagi. His luck stayed with him but his mind has decayed. This is not the Washizu Akagi intended to awake when he threw away his blood. This is no real opponent. Where is The Washizu who comes from Hell itself, where they have magic sands, and luck alone won't win you anything

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anyone else notice on page 15 that Akagi had cut the 9-pin? Surely it would make more sense to have kept that instead of the 6-pin in his hand and get a Chanta? That is pretty strange, and might just be a mistake by Fukumoto, but it could easily by a some strange trap from Akagi...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wouldn't have made any difference, the hand is 4 Han already and bumping it to 5 Han wouldn't make it any more valuable. And besides, it might arouse suspicions from Washizu, since Akagi wanted him to think he has a Hatsu and 7-sou double pair wait, where chanta was impossible, anyway.

      Delete
    2. As far as I can tell it's only 30 fu though? 20 + 4 + 4 +2, so it shouldn't be mangan. Am I missing something?

      Delete
    3. Akagi has always used Kiriage Mangan, or the rule where 4 han, 30 fu or 3 han 60 fu is Mangan, since it's only a few hundred points, anyway.

      Delete
    4. Oh, I see. Tenhou doesn't use that rule, so I actually didn't know it existed. Now I get it. Keep up the good work with Akagi!

      Delete